• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Papaw's Collection (RWC Senior)

5 posts in this topic

I haven't counted, but I believe I have a couple hundred coins. I've got just about everything I guess. I'll post pictures here on this thread. I suspect a few of these coins are worth grading/slabbing. I just need help figuring out which ones. I am currently studying the resources on this website to determine which coins are worth grading/slabbing. My mother has the balance of Papaw's collection in a lock box. I have just what he gave me while he was alive. The lock box contains gold coins, 1800's paper bills, all kinds of other things.

I wish not to wear the experts out, answering questions they have answered hundreds of times. I will do my best to educate myself. However, would you all be interested in seeing the collection here? This could be fun, and we can discover what I have together. Thanks for the warm welcome I have received today.

Tonight I will start the photo posting with a 1776 Continental Curency (1-C). I understand the probability that it is a fake. But to my untrained eye, and looking at Robert Rodriguez's collection, I need further proof its a fake. It does weigh 15 grams. Its Pewter.

Admin Note: I started this thread in the "Ask NGC" thread, and it was suggested I place it here. Please delete the other thread. Thanks!

Each coin in its own thread will be ideal. That way, the discussion can scroll off naturally as the subject matter is exhausted. Looking forward to seeing them, and if they end up putting you along a river in the Ozarks, listening to fifty head in the pasture, I'll be very happy for you.

16 minutes ago, JKK said: