• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Help please indentifying ancient coins: 3 of 8

4 posts in this topic

Hello,

As a complete newbie, I would really appreciate any help identifying this coin.  There are 8 in total, separate emails.

COIN #3

This one is (in millimeters):

Longest axis:      17.2

90° away:           16.0

Thickness:          1.56

My scales aren’t accurate enough to weigh it with any degree of certainty, but I’d guess ~2-3 grams but this could be way wrong.

The metal appears to be bronze.  Around 300AD, Emperor Constantine, perhaps?

2019-2-8 14-48-37.jpg

2019-2-8 14-48-57.jpg

This is an ancient commemorative follis (or AE3) of Constantinople. They are kind of cool. The signature feature is the turned-up tail behind the bust. Cuirassed, probably mantled bust left of Constantinople (personified), CONSTANTINOPOLIS for OL; no RL, looks like Victoria advancing left, foot on prow, hands on sceptre and shield with olive branch. In ex. TRS (Treveri mint). Sear 16444 (that is a catalog number and I would not present it if I were not dead sure). In this case I did the Wildwinding myself, just because I felt like it. The exergue really narrows this one down because the TRS mark usually has an oficina (sub-mint) mark after it, but not always, and on this coin there is no trace of such.

8 hours ago, JKK said: