• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Help please indentifying ancient coins: 2 of 8

6 posts in this topic

As a complete newbie, I would really appreciate any help identifying this coin.  There are 8 in total, separate emails.

COIN #2

This one is (in millimeters):

Longest axis:      17.1

90° away:           16.2

Thickness:          1.6

My scales aren’t accurate enough to weigh it with any degree of certainty, but I’d guess ~2-3 grams which could be way wrong.

The metal appears to be bronze.  Around 300AD, Emperor Constantine, perhaps?

2019-2-8 14-48-8.jpg

2019-2-8 14-47-50.jpg

2019-2-8 14-48-1.jpg

I have to say, you did a comprehensive job putting these together. Nicely done.

This one looks much like the previous issue, but is a different emperor. I think it's Constantius II as Caesar; Bust is probably diademed, draped and cuirassed right. However, that also might be laureate. OL looks like FL IVL CONSTANTIVS NOB C. RL looks problematic, but reverse type is again two soldiers with spear and shield, two kebabs, which makes the RL possibilities drop like one of Tiberius's hapless toys at Caprae. That's how this game works: nail down at least two of the five with certainty, which limits what the rest can be. Again an AE3. GLORIA EXERCITVS is almost certainly the RL because two soldier and two kebab coins always had this militaristic propaganda. Again I'm having a rough time with the Ex., but maybe you'll get inspirations by feeding the legends to Wildwinds.

8 hours ago, JKK said:

I have to say, you did a comprehensive job putting these together. Nicely done.