• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Are these copper nickel clad

16 posts in this topic

Yes, all of the dimes, quarters, halves and dollars in the 1973 Mint Set are copper-nickel clad.  The 1973 Ike Dollars are Mint Set only coins, so that's a cool little bonus for you with that set.

In my experience, it is absolutely impossible to accurately grade coins inside of Mint Set and Proof Set packaging, especially from pictures.  I grade and sell a lot of modern coins, and I have been doing so since around 2008.  What I can tell you is that these coins look very different inside the packaging than they do outside of it in a lot of cases, and a photograph adds an extra layer of distance between myself and the coin as far as grading goes.  It may not be the same for everyone here, but I absolutely cannot accurately predict a grade on a coin in a mint set package from a photo.

I really appreciate it. Hell I just buy coins because there different since I was a little kid and are in good shape. But I was told have some really nice coins so I wanna figure a couple out or which one they are. I’m not the most computer savvy. I literally have had a massive collection for years and did not realize some of there true values

6 minutes ago, BellaNathan said:

So are these considered rare these days?

image.jpg

Hello again,

I don't think that 1964 Mint Sets are considered rare, but they are desirable.  On Ebay, they're bringing between $20 and $30 right now.  There are some decent varieties on some 1964 coinage too.  I am unsure if they can be found in Mint Sets, but take a look at our host's Variety Plus page and then check your coins.....you never know what you may find!