• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Indian Head Pennies

2 posts in this topic

As a real novice, I am struggling with the following on Indian Head Cents (1859-1909):

1. Why BN, RB, and RD?

2. Why does the certification only last 10 years on some of these?

thank you!

Daniel G.

• Administrator

Thank you for your post. I have listed a link below which you may find very beneficial as it describes the grading process of the Lincoln Cents which touches on the designations. I also copied a few sections of our NGC Guarantee that describe the copper coin policy. 

https://www.ngccoin.com/coin-grading-guide/Grading-Lincoln-Cents.aspx

Deterioration of Certain Coins. The NGC Guarantee does not apply to certain Coins where the appearance of the Coin changes or deteriorates over time and such change or deterioration is responsible for any discrepancy between the assigned grade and the Coin’s actual grade. NGC shall make the sole reasonable determination as to whether this deterioration has occurred. The following specific parameters apply:

1. In certain Coins, natural environmental deterioration may cause undesired features to appear, such as (but not limited to) spotting, hazing, PVC and corrosion. Spots, for example, can occur on modern silver Coins as a result of the minting process or other natural conditions over which NGC has no control. Therefore, the NGC Guarantee does not apply to Coins exhibiting any of these issues.