• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

marshall carter

5 posts in this topic

Hello Group, I'm new to coin collecting . Does anyone have knowledge or experience with a company called C&S RARE COINS, INC, 654 N.Wellwood Ave #217D, North Lindenhurst, NY 11757. They have offered to sell me a 1881-S Morgan Silver Dollar  NGC MS67 NGC Certificate #  3216023-006 for $2400.00, they claim this coin is worth over $4000.00. They sent the coin to me USPS insured.

How do I Know find what the actual fare market value really is? I'm Located in a small town in Charlotte County Fl. 33983.

9 hours ago, TMG said:

Hello Group, I'm new to coin collecting . Does anyone have knowledge or experience with a company called C&S RARE COINS, INC, 654 N.Wellwood Ave #217D, North Lindenhurst, NY 11757. They have offered to sell me a 1881-S Morgan Silver Dollar  NGC MS67 NGC Certificate #  3216023-006 for $2400.00, they claim this coin is worth over $4000.00. They sent the coin to me USPS insured.

How do I Know find what the actual fare market value really is? I'm Located in a small town in Charlotte County Fl. 33983.

Numismedia, which if anything I think is generally high, suggests a value of $730 for an 81-S in 67. I don't know anything about the company, but I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be in a hurry to pay anyone $2400 for an MS-67 81-S Morgan. An MS-68 might be another story entirely. I checked the listings for prooflikes and that produced a value of $1500. Without knowing more about the coin, of course, I can never be sure, but offhand their price seems rather high.