• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

grade this 1913 type one buffalo nickel, mint state slabbed

19 posts in this topic

Now I'm a newb....

I say the ol' boy has lost some cheek and hair definition on the obverse and some text sharpness on the reverse. Not to mention the before mentioned spots, EF 40 if my source is to be believed?

Edit:

Here is a more appropriately sized image of the coin next to the grading standard I am using.

Buffalos_zpszmsqmsw6.jpg

Now I'm a newb....

I say the ol' boy has lost some cheek and hair definition on the obverse and some text sharpness on the reverse. Not to mention the before mentioned spots, EF 40 if my source is to be believed?

Edit:

Here is a more appropriately sized image of the coin next to the grading standard I am using.

Buffalos_zpszmsqmsw6.jpg

I see noticeable wear on the 1935, but not on the 1913.

Now I'm a newb....

Edit:

Buffalos_zpszmsqmsw6.jpg

There is a difference between a weak strike and wear. The two can be difficult to tell apart from pictures (since they both affect the high points), but the one on the left appears to be weakly struck. Buffalo nickels are notorious for this. This weak strike will affect the grade.

I'd give the OP's coin a 64.

Looks like a weak strike, looks MS63.

I'm betting it's in an AU50 or XF45 slab.

While you might be correct about the slab grade, 1) the OP did say the coin is unc. And 2) it looks like it.

The coin looks MS. I don't like the look with the spots but I tend to be tough. Normally, I'd go MS62 but I'll say MS63 on the slab.