• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grading Help please

12 posts in this topic

I am a newbie trying to learn and learn.

What will this coin grade to? Will it be MS63 or better with NGC?

Is it worth sending it for re-grading it to NGC? Currently, it's in a old NGC soapbox holder.

Thank you for the help!

Optimized_1925_DRev.jpg

1925_DObv.jpg

Thank you Mark.

Great, its already MS62, I am hoping to get it graded better than MS62.

Should I even try?

I have no idea based on the images provided. But you seem to want to try to get coins re-graded because they would be worth more, rather than because you have good reason to believe they deserve up-grades. And that's not a good basis for trying re-grades.

Unless you have a lot of hands-on experience with this denomination/type, the "grading game" will only cost you money. After you've examined, perhaps, 5,000 examples of Indian quarter eagles, and read all the available literature including the various grading guidebooks and auction catalogs, then you might be able to determine if the coin will "grade" higher than MS-62.

The fundamental difficulty is: "If you have to ask, you don't know enough to make a good decision."

I'm not being mean or sarcastic -- only hoping you will learn before you spend. (See your other gold coins thread, also.)

Yes sir. I don't know much! Thats why i am here seeking help. I am just undertaking the process of learning. I am new to this and I believe it takes time.

Any good literature on indian eagles? I will gladly spend time reading.