• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Coin newbie. Need opinion on cleaning.

12 posts in this topic

Hey guys. Long time comic collector, newbie coin collector. I've got the grade thing down. I mean I'm just learning how to grade coins and I'm not good at it yet, but I understand the concept. The hard part for me is recognizing if a coin has been cleaned. I have recently purchased six Morgans from Ebay. Not expensive, but ranging from $30-45 each. Nice coins, bright and white, but I am weary about cleaning since these all look good as new, despite the typical scratches and scrapes. Two different Ebay dealers here, both with great reputation. If you could look at these and give me your opinions on if they look cleaned or not that would be great. A grade too if you are interested! If they are cleaned then that's fine and I'll just live with it as these are inexpensive coins, but at some point I'll probably start putting more money into coins and want to be more aware of what I am buying. In the meantime I may want to stick with graded coins if I can't trust the larger Ebay dealers. Also, any tips on which Ebay dealers are good to buy raw Morgans from? Thanks!

Purchased from rojo-86:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/381494675417?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/201489366477?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Purchased from morgandealer:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/401048215093?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/401048211139?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/191770424661?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT