• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

2004 P DDO HANDSHAKE Nickel

10 posts in this topic

I just recently bought my second 2004 P DDO handshake nickel. Part of the top 100 NGC modern set (number 82). The coins has NGC cert 1838277-025. The coin has with it the identifiers FS-2004P-111. Both my MS64 and 65 have the same variety. I have two questions i think... one, DDO should have the doubling on the jefferson face not the handshake side, correct? sort of a dumb question i know but both are encapsulated with the handshake forward and i am telling you guys I am new to varieties but i can not see it on either side. Second question, I bought the only MS65 I have ever seen. i only have seen MS64, why is that? are they stuck in rolls which is my guess.

Does anyone have one that shows nice doubling because i cant see it and i think i am going to have to get the electron microscope to see it.

I don't fully understand what you mean. The only variety for the 2005-P is the FS-101. It is a DDO which has doubling on the obverse. There are quite a few that have been graded with many that are higher than MS65. You can view these results in the NGC Census by clicking on the "arrow" to the left of the date/mintmark.

http://www.ngccoin.com/coin-census/us/jefferson-five-cents-pscid-25-desig-ms-page-7-base

Chris