• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Rudman collection of Mexican colonial coinage

20 posts in this topic

I just read an add on CoinWeek that Heritage will be auctioning off this collection in multiple parts. This is the top Mexican collection in the world to my knowledge (at least private one) though maybe there is another one of which I have no knowledge. I have mentioned it in my prior posts.

I presume it will occur in two installments. The CoinWeek article covers the gold coinage which will be sold in August at the ANA convention. These coins are currently listed but without images. I presume the silver will be sold in 2016 though no timeframe is noted.

I collect the pillar minors and have reviwed his registry sets in the past. So, now its time to save up my money and make a short list of the coins I will attempt to compte for.

My first choice is to buy a higher grade pillar 4R. I don't own one from this mint and though I have seen a few XF or lower AU in the past, never prioritized it.

I also want to buy a better AU 1R. I own a single AU-58 but it's not a natural looking coin as it is all "white".

I am also interested in the 1732 issues but all of them will be very expensive. A few are in "details" holders but I am dubious that they will sell at a price I will be willing to pay.

I don't see them in his registry set but apparently he owns several "royals". Stacks last sold an NGC VF-35 1/2R for about $1500. I consider this price a bargain for a coin like it.

Why does "registry" matter? I thought you collected coins not green stamps.... ;)

It doesn't matter. I looked to see what was in it in the past.