• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Newbie needs advice--1838 Half Eagle & Layfayette Dollar

12 posts in this topic

I am a total newbie at this so bear with me. I inherited some coins that were in a frame for over 100 years (somewhere between 1900 to 1905).

The photos of the Lafayette Dollar do not accurately show the toning and luster & the half eagle has luster that does not show up. I'm thinking of having these coins graded (which I've never done before) and 1) do not know what NGC grading tier I should be submitting under and 2) how to set the Declared Value (which would probably also answer the first question). I figured if I have input on the grade, I could figure the answer to these questions.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

IMG_2743_zps1epfew1j.jpgIMG_2744_zpsn2lcjxau.jpgIMG_0806_zpsf9c0zbkr.jpgIMG_2741_1_zpstiqxjvkc.jpgIMG_2742_1_zpslusu54yp.jpg

The reverse of the Lafayette dollar did not come out as the coin actually looks. I added the shot from my iPhone to try to catch the color of the toning.

To post pictures you have to download them to a photo hosting service (Photobucket is free). Once downloaded there click on the IMG of the coin selected, it will illuminate in yellow saying copied when you left click. Come to this thread and "edit" then click the thing that looks like a painters palate. A little box will appear, right click you link into that box, then exit the edit. Repeat as necessary.

DON'T clean your coins in any way!!!!!!!

Oh, and welcome to the boards.