• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question regarding clashed die/cracked die struck coins

13 posts in this topic

I am rather new to collecting so I was wondering, "in general" are coins that show die clashes or cracks considered less desirable than coins that do not with respect to the overall market? If all things being equal which would you prefer? Does it impact the coin's grade during grading? Personally, I find a heighted degree of intrigue with coins showing clashes and cracks. But interested in the boards thoughts on the topic?

I am rather new to collecting so I was wondering, "in general" are coins that show die clashes or cracks considered less desirable than coins that do not with respect to the overall market? If all things being equal which would you prefer? Does it impact the coin's grade during grading? Personally, I find heighted degree of intrigue with coins showing clashes and cracks. But interested in the boards thoughts on the topic?

This is going to be a very long Thread.

I would answer:

Question #1... it depends on the coin.

Question #2...it depends on the coin.

Question #3...do you mean negatively or positively, because it depends on the coin.

Die cracks and clashes should not affect the grade of a coin.

Some (minor) cracks and clashes do affect the value of a coin depending on how many bidiots are chasing them.

Major cracks and clashes can bring nice premiums.

Chris

VAMpires (Morgan and Peace Dollar variety collectors) love clashed dies but only like cracks when they have widened into die breaks. (Not to be confused with "die brakes" on your Volkswagen.)