• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

When would diversification be considered achieved

8 posts in this topic

I saw a great post on tips to coin collecting. I'm rather new to collecting, so I was wondering?

http://blog.ha.com/2014/02/mark-felds-coin-collecting-tips/.

I was wondering on item 10. When would it be considered a collection to be a well diversified collection? Can a person only collect modern bullion coins from U.S. and still achieve a diversified collection? What would in your opinions a diversified collection look like?

I was wondering on item 10. When would it be considered a collection to be a well diversified collection? Can a person only collect modern bullion coins from U.S. and still achieve a diversified collection? What would in your opinions a diversified collection look like?

If you are just talking for investment purposes, and you are interested in bullion, then you probably won't get more liquid than modern US bullion pieces. A diversified precious metals strategy would invest in multiple different metals (the US mints silver, gold, and platinum). More diversified might incorporate a few pre-1933 gold pieces (61-62 Libs, or 63 St. Gaudens).

The way I read #10 was in buying coins as an investment. That advice is the same as if you were investing in the stock market. Don't put all your money into one stock, but diversify your investments into a variety of stocks. That way if one stock falls, it doesn't drag down your entire portfolio.