• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What does "W" Mean in a Grade?

10 posts in this topic

I've been collecting since around 1994 when I was just 11 years old and mainly I've been a passive collector getting stuff from change and buying a nice coin every now-and-then from a local dealer and getting the annual proof sets and silver bullions. Then this weekend I discovered eBay. hail.gif

I think the best way to put it is that I have spent more in the last week on coins than I had in the last two years combined. Anyway, I thought that through eBay I could start to actually build up some nice sets instead of just going for random coins that looked nice (a Morgan dollar here, a 3-cent piece there) so I thought that Kennedy halves would be a relatively cheap place to start (I wanted to go for something that had some silver in it).

One of my first purchases that just arrived in the mail today was a 1964 PF-69W (I'm a starvign college student so I didn't go for a C or DC coin, though I'm eying them). I'd thought that the "W" meant "White," but another coin that I bought that came today was a 1964 PF-68 Accented Hair, so I compared the two coins (both NGC slabbed). To me, as to my parents, the PF-69W appeared to be yellower, not whiter than the other.

So, after a very long introduction, my question is what does the "W" mean? Is it actually white and I was just looking at it in the wrong light, or does it mean something else? Additionally, does the "W" bring a premium or does it lower the value of the coin (I'm curious here to know if I got ripped off)?

Thanks in advance to whoever can help!