• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New to Coin Collecting

13 posts in this topic

Hello, I am new to the coin collecting world and I have a couple of questions I hope someone can help me with. 1st, are there any good books for beginners on coin collecting to read and also, I do have a couple old us coins and I would like to get them graded. Should I clean them before sending them to get graded or just leave them as is? Thank you! Joe

Welcome, Joe.

Don't clean your coins.

If you can post images here, we might be able to tell you whether they merit submission to a grading company.

Regarding book recommendations - do you have any particular areas of interest?

Welcome to the board.

I suggest buying books specific to the coins you are looking to collect for as much information related to that type as possible.

Ironically cleaning a coin significantly decreases the value. You never want to clean coins and in fact you should hold them on the sides only as oils and such on your skin can affect them with time.

Graded coins are worth more as they provide a measure of "insurance" to the owner/potential buyer about authenticity and condition. If you search on Ebay for example you will come across graded coins that include the words "Details, Improperly Cleaned". It only makes sense to have coins graded if they are worth (or likely worth) more than the costs to get them graded.

Good luck with your research and new hobby.

Welcome to the neighborhood, Joe!

Since you're a beginner, there are two books I think you should buy:

Guide Book of United States Coins commonly called the Red Book, and

The Official ANA Grading Standards for United States Coins.