• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Gold coin questions

8 posts in this topic

I will admit that I am a novice when looking at the gold coin market.

Paper Gold? I've traded often.

Gold/silver futures? I fully understand and actively trade them.

Generic gold versus numismatic gold coins?.. Two different businesses. Numismatic interests me less although I will probably buy CC $20 gold piece soon. Sunken treasure? Maybe I'll buy a piece or two? Very high grade / rare date double eagles? again ... maybe flyer or two?

Here is where I'm less certain....

Pre 1933 versus modern bullion coins? I guess the price differential (premiums) are a major factor regarding which has more value? Generic gold seems to be relatively cheap at the moment? Which currently is better value?

Where do most collectors store coins / bullion?

Is Brinks safer than a bank vault?

Does anyone have their bullion insured?

What percentage silver should one have versus gold?

Is it better to have some overseas?

I guess some of the answers depends on the reason one owns the coins?

I've read quite bit from paranoids to survivalists to some who just want paper hedge. I guess, Their answers to some of the questions is dictated by their outlook.

I was wondering how / why many on this site collect coins?

Pre 1933 versus modern bullion coins? I guess the price differential (premiums) are a major factor regarding which has more value? Generic gold seems to be relatively cheap at the moment? Which currently is better value?

Where do most collectors store coins / bullion?

Is Brinks safer than a bank vault?

Does anyone have their bullion insured?

What percentage silver should one have versus gold?

Is it better to have some overseas?