• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

IS IT JUST ME? OR Does the "Little Guy" get less here. posted by Castronova

8 posts in this topic

• Member: Seasoned Veteran

The Law of Averages, The Census and the "Little Guy"

I have been submitting coins to NGC since 2008 and pretty much backed away in 2011, into 2012, as far as the quantity and frequency of coins I send their way. This mainly due to the fact I never seem to be in the running for top grade coins, regardless of what I submit. I just got back an ER 4 coin Lunar typeset and of course, there's a token "70." for my troubles, but what always seems to surface is that all my "69's" are orphans or close to it in their census of that coin. 21 pf70s.....1 PF69.. guess who owns the 69. This is a mathematical anomoly and I'll bet whoever submitted 21 of the same coin and got 21 PF70's must be elated. Now of course someone has to get 69s, not all coins fit that criteria, but... If I send 6 different coins and get 1 70, I'm okay with that. I'm not okay always being the guy that gets a 69 when the run is predominantly grading out at 70 and its obvious that I don't rate enough as a customer to carry, or be afforded the same treatment as the guy across the street. There is bias and subjective elements at work here that leave me realizing I'm just fodder at some point. Which is why I only send in a small amount for grading, as I am predisposed to knowing the results and I'm never far off in assuming that whatever I send in, will get passed off over to the "ho-hum" section because I'm small potatoes, dollar for dollar. They must think we're stupid. As a collector its at worst, dissapointing but moreover, as an ordinary person, its almost offensive. They care about as