• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The Langbords vs. The Astronauts.

5 posts in this topic

As most of you know, the Langbord's Double Eagles were lost to the US Government. Obviously there were real questions as to whether the coins were obtained legitimately or not.

It helps if you are a public hero.

I've been chewing my nails for about two years now as the US Government was trying to take away items from Mercury/Gemini/Apollo era astronauts (and the people they had sold them to), saying that the (ex-NASA) era items were never "properly" given to the astronauts, so that in actuality the title to the items still resided with the US Govt.

It had been the tradition back in the 1960's and early 1970's that the Smithsonian got first dibs on anything it wanted. Whatever it didn't want the astronauts could claim and WERE GIVEN THEIR SUPERIOR'S UNWRITTEN BLESSINGS.

Early last year Ed Mitchell, the lunar module (LM) pilot of Apollo 14, tried to auction off a camera (these sort of items had been previously auctioned off for decades with no issue). Furthermore, the camera had been designated to have been left in the LM upper stage which was then deliberately crashed into the Moon's surface when it undocked from the Command Module (CM), so the camera would have been destroyed if Mitchell hadn't saved it. Anyhow, the Feds claimed the camera once it had been listed in the auction catalogue. FWIW the camera would have most likely sold in the $50,000 - $75,000 range. Mitchell did not have the sort of money necessary to fight back given the amount the camera was worth.