• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1865 3 Cent Nickel -- GRADE REVEALED

16 posts in this topic

I picked up this example for my type set. I'm posting both large and smaller, more interpretable images, as people tend to have problems guessing grades on huge images (myself included).

Thanks,

-Brandon

125794.jpg.6601074aa85ff01a4561d581bf1a4870.jpg

125795.jpg.88c6194d675856f374e7f9e13dfe2dd7.jpg

125796.jpg.8af3e1d0a085ba167d66f82223294f64.jpg

Take my opinion with a grain of salt as I have no experience with this series.

If the luster is there I would say MS63 due to the weak strike.

If not I would say AU55 with wear.

Yeh I know big difference just remember I suck at this series for sure.

Is the coin holdered?

I am looking forward to hearing other more experience collectors grades.

Yes, it is in a problem-free PCGS holder.

If going to guess the coin is lighter in color and more lustrous, in hand and that it grades MS64. If I'm wrong about the former, I will be wrong about the latter. ;)

If going to guess the coin is lighter in color and more lustrous, in hand and that it grades MS64. If I'm wrong about the former, I will be wrong about the latter. ;)

Is what I am percieving as weakness in the strike normal for this date? What about other dates?

I know nothing about this series, but I find your particular coin interesting. Like the grainy appearance.

I'm going to call it AU55 or 58, not because of the weak strike of course, but because of the color change at the high point in the hair to the right of (behind) the ear. It doesn't line up with the grain (and neither do the more subtle changes of color to the left of the prominent one), so I'm guessing wear.