• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1st bad ebay experience

36 posts in this topic

I have been using ebay to mostly buy and sometimes sell for about 4 years now.

I have recieved a few coins which were not as described and once not the same coin listed. In each case the situation was handled promptly and I was not out anything.

I have also had a couple of coins I sold returned. Each of these also were handled promptly with out problem.

How ever this last coin I sold the buyer did return and things did not go smooth.

It was a 1914-s nickel which was listed as uncirculated and richly toned. The pics listed below are spot on.

I did have a 2% restock fee in the return policy.

The buyer returned because he felt the pic looked nothing like the coin and he expected a brilliant piece. I did not ask he just chose to state the coin was too dark and did not match some other buffs I had listed.

I refunded the day I recieved the coin. The buyer was upset and would not agree to a cancel transaction. So I met him half way and only charged 1%. $4.75

Still unhappy the buyer opened a case and claimed the coin was not as described. The obverse was cleaned and he did not want to mention this to me.

Not true. He just did not like the toning.

Also claimed I would not respond and charged a 10% fee. $47.50

I had the choice to give the $4.75 or let ebay make the decision. So after the blatant lies I chose to let ebay decide.

With in 1 hour the case was resolved in my favor.

I am sure I will now have to fight the neg which is sure to come but oh well.

I felt I upheld my end which was agreed to upon purchase. Maybe I should have not charged a fee. I am not sure.

14s.jpg