• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rims on a coin

17 posts in this topic

Hi there. I am kind of new to collecting and have a question. I wanted to know how much the value and grading of a coin would be affected by not having equal rims on the obverse and reverse of a coin. I purchased than cancelled a transaction on a coin on e-bay recently. The ebay # was 150793763411 I don't know how to attach the photos on this post. Thanks Jerry

I would call it VF details with obverse damage and verdigris. In short, you were wise to pass on the piece.

To answer your original question, I don't see what you are referring to; minor variation would not likely garner any premium unless the coin was struck outside of the collar or broad-struck.

The bid was 112 dollars. I was wondering about the wear around the outside of coin. On the obverse you can easily see ridges but on the reverse side the ridges are worn away. Not sure I am calling these by the correct name. Thanks for the welcome to your chat board! Jerry

Having variable rim wear usually does not have a major effect unless there is no rim (or severe wear) on one side, in which case this may lower the grade. The minor differences here are inconsequential.

thanks for your help in posting those photos. I did not notice the verdigris originally either. I noticed the rim difference after looking at some grading photos. All those grading photos had equal looking rims on both sides of the coin.

They are called dentils (or any variation of the word). It is common on these early coins for them to be different between Obverse and Reverse.