• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rim nicks

12 posts in this topic

Can someone explain how drastically rim nicks affect the grade of an uncirculated Morgan. I have a really well struck 1904 O Morgan that appears to be an MS 65 until you view the reverse rim which has 3 rim nicks (tiny and none gets into the beads).

I'm guessing I can deduct 1 full grade but I have no experience in these matters.

Opinions?

Just to give you an idea, the tiny rim hit and the little bit of softness on the motto are all that is keeping this coin from being a 66. That is a $10k rim hit.

Nice coin. With this said, I don't think the rim hit is keeping this coin from a 66; I think the micro-chatter on Mr. Franklin's cheek accomplishes this. I still like it very much as a 65+.

Just to give you an idea, the tiny rim hit and the little bit of softness on the motto are all that is keeping this coin from being a 66. That is a $10k rim hit.

Nice coin. With this said, I don't think the rim hit is keeping this coin from a 66; I think the micro-chatter on Mr. Franklin's cheek accomplishes this. I still like it very much as a 65+.

I talked to Mark Salzberg (president of NGC) at FUN this year, and he was doing free grade evaluations. When he was describing to me his thought process for how he graded the coin, this is what he said.

I talked to Mark Salzberg (president of NGC) at FUN this year, and he was doing free grade evaluations. When he was describing to me his thought process for how he graded the coin, this is what he said.

I also assume Mark Salzberg was looking at both sides of the coin, not just one as you posted here. ;)