• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What VAM am I

11 posts in this topic

I recently acquired an 1878 8 TF Morgan and have been trying to compare my coin to the various descriptions on VAMWORLD.COM in hopes of determining what I might have. Basically my coin has a few of the characteristics of some VAMs but not all of the characteristics of any specific VAM. I am fairly new to coin collecting so I suspect I am making "rookie" mistakes and overlooking the obvious detail or two that would help properly categorize the coin.

So, I am hoping I can get some input from the readers and suggestions as to what I should look for on this coin to narrow down the VAM. My description is below and I will include pictures at the bottom.

First, it looks like the coin shifted in two directions during production - rotating counter clockwise slightly and shifting to the lower right / southeast as the majority of the letters are doubled on the vertical edges. Many are also doubled on the bottom and in some cases the bottom

I think the reverse is the A1C version for several reasons:

- there are three small feathers on the outside of the legs on each side

- letters in UNITED seem to be doubled on top and bottom

- STATES OF AMERICA seem to be doubled on the bottom

- ONE DOLLAR and left wreath are doubled.

- the bottom section of the TOP serif in the second S in STATES is cut off / not complete

Many letters on the reverse are also doubled on the left vertical side

The reverse also shows signs of clashing (I think that is what they call it) towards the inside top of the wreaths

There are also signs of clashing below the N in IN GOD WE TRUST that connects to the wing.