• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

My fascination with Phrygian caps/poles

5 posts in this topic

Ok I have always had a thing about Phrygian caps and poles. I love the whole freedom and liberty association with them though out various cultures including US coin design. I'm a fashion designer by trade and hats/caps have become an integral part of the industry the past decade. So when I got a chance to integrate my work with my play I jumped on these two Condor tokens. I have always enjoyed macabre themed coins and Thomas Paine hanging men tokens in particular. Add in some color and I'm totally sated with these two pieces.

Both tokens illicit an emotional response from me. Maybe, I need to get out more. The first token pictured is quite rare for the the series. I had never seen one prior and the boys at CRO had never handled one before. The obverse is literally a treasure trove of symbolism. It takes me back to those childhood magazines------" How many things can you find on this page" type of thing. The second token is also a piece I have never seen before in that obverse/reverse combination. It is subtle, powerful and beautiful in my opinion. I thank John and Dave for working with me on these two pieces. I smell another sub series in my future. MJ

5.jpg

7.jpg

i can't believe they made a token with the image of a guy hanging on it, pretty crazy

The "guy" in question was Thomas Paine. Paine is remembered for his American Revolutionary War tract, "Common Sense." After that his life kind of went down hill. His ideas about political freedom were not popular, especially in England when he was hung on this and few other tokens.