• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ever regret a submission?

14 posts in this topic

I'm new to submitting coins for a grade and a novice collector (that could be my problem). I purchased two colonial era coins from a reputable dealer a while ago and sent them to NGC for certification. NGC labeled both as having "scratches". I didn't see anything significant before submitting them and the dealer never mentioned the word "scratches". Minor surface flaws, yes, but not scratches. Now I guess I know a flaw can interpreted as a "scratch" by NGC. Because of the result I regret the submission. Anyone else have regrets?

A little while ago I think I went 0-9 and all the coins came back as AT....

So yes... but recently I resubmitted a couple of them and they did grade. So you may want to try again...

sorry to hear of this and unfortunately there are sad times with submissions but also good times too!!

but everything is a subjective opinion when submitting raw coins

i think the mad one a few years ago said it best across the street

"when the slab doesn't fit, resubmit"

and welcome to the boards!!

Have you re-examined the coins, in order to try to see the "scratches" ?

I'm not saying that you should necessarily be swayed by NGC's opinion. But sometimes, it is a purchase that should be regretted, rather than the submission thereof. ;)