• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

More Proof that Coin Grading is Subjective

45 posts in this topic

Have you got any ideas on why these might have graded the same? Are some of those silent net grades coming into play or even the silent bumps?

I'm relatively new to collecting again. Newbies are advised to learn to grade but then you hear about market grading, net grading, eye appeal bumps, bumps for rarity etc.- makes it tough.

I can understand your concerns. It's concerns most of us have, regardless our time in coin collecting. I've been collecting less than 10 years, and still learning every day. I think it's important to start with the general term for this grade:

F-12

This is for "Fine" (the grade) and "12" (the numerical designation of the grade). The design detail is partially in evidence. The coin is still heavily worn. If there is any eye appeal in this grade it comes from the smooth surfaces associated with this grade, as any distracting marks have usually been worn off through circulation.

The grading services don't want to admit it, but grading standards have fluctuated throughout the years. I own the bottom coin and it is in a PCGS OGH holder. The myth is that coins in these holders are undergraded. Coins have been over and undergraded since day one.

The top coin is a rarer variety, R-4. Did this fact affect the grade? Only the graders know for sure. It is attractive to me.

For me, it's important to know the basics of coin grading and find a select few coin dealers who know coin grading in more detail and trust them to find you nice coins.