• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New memember qustion help grading Morgan

24 posts in this topic

Greetings everyone

This is my first on this form and I am looking for help improving my grading sills.

here are some of my Morgans that I could use help with.

I will start with a few and if it's OK will post more.

Thank you all

Alan

coin11-1.jpg

coin12-1-1.jpg

coin5-2.jpg

coin6-1-1.jpg

I'll be first to welcome you and give my opinions. I am fairly new at this in comparision but I only focus on morgans so I feel as though I have gotten fairly competent with them.

1886: Can't tell anything about luster from the pictures/scans (my guess is they are scans). Surfaces look very nice and I would say that it could grade MS65; however, without seeing the luster of the coin I would be concerned that it may have been dipped. Additional pictures in natural light would be more revealing.

1885: Reverse looks very clean with strong strike. The obverse picture is difficult to see, it looks flat and AU wear in the hair. It also has a nasty bag mark on the focus area of the cheak. I would say this one could be anywhere from AU53-MS62.

Now let's see what the real experts say.

Welcome to the neighborhood, Alan!

1886: I see what looks like a little bit of wear in the hair above her forehead which might knock it down a bit. I wouldn't blame this on a weak strike because you would ordinarily see such loss of detail on the hair above the ear, and for this coin, that detail is quite good. It looks like it has been dipped one too many times in the well since there appears to be a total absence of luster. Is this a scan or a photo? As was mentioned, scans do not show luster well. I'll say AU58.