• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Looking for advice re: type set albums

13 posts in this topic

I'm a rookie collector, and I was hoping to get some advice on how to proceed.

A few years ago I purchased an Intercept Shield Jefferson Nickels album, because I read that nickels were fairly easy to collect, and that the IS albums were more "modern" and safer than Danscos and others. Flash forward to now, and the nickels haven't held my interest very well.

I've decided I'd like to work towards a basic US type set, which I understand corresponds to the classic Dansco 7070 album. I think other albums have similar type set books (I know IS does). But I've also read that any album may still allow toning, or abrasion marks from pushing the coins into the pages. If I'm going to do this, I'd like to collect the best possible coins on my budget (very small) and keep them in the best possible condition, and perhaps send them in for slabbing one day. I'd like to see my set on the registry.

Knowing all that, what should I do? Stick with an album now for fun, and damn the torpedos? Or, go ahead and put them in individual flips, airtites, or IS holders knowing that I'll want to submit them in the future, even if it means they're less fun to display?

Any and all advice would be appreciated. That includes talking me into/out of the type set, or the nickels!

First of all, Welcome to our friendly little neighborhood!

I think you'll get many responses, and I could launch into a length diatribe, but I won't. I'll post one selective piece of advice. And by the way, I LOVE LOVE LOVE filling in albums, and have two 7070s in progress.

So here's advisory #1: