• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1967 Kennedy Half - Opinions?

10 posts in this topic

This is a currently slabbed 1967 Kennedy Half that I have. I think it's under graded currently... but I am far from an expert on grading. I'd love to hear some opinions.

1967-obv.jpg

1967-rev.jpg

Thanks everyone!

-Jim

Keep in mind that hairlines play the critical role in grading these, and they are usually too small to show up on an image of that size. It could literally grade anywhere from SMS-63 to SMS-68 from that image.

Is that a scratch on the back of Kennedy's jaw? If so, then 62. If the coin is typically clean, it's likely 65 +/- a point.

Also, I'd say lock CAM, strong possibility of UCAM, but I see a few breaks in the frost on the upper levels of the cheek. NGC might give a boost to UCAM, but deduct a point in grade to balance out.

Regardless, it's fantastic!

Edited to add: Welcome to our friendly little neighborhood!

I need to learn how to spot hairlines. I guess they are a major factor in grading proof type coins. I don't have the coin in front of me, so I'll check the cheek for a scratch later. Normally I would have posted a little bigger image, but all I had on my laptop was the NGC Registry limited image (less than 200KB).

Thanks so much for your input. I'll reveal the grade once a few more get the chance to chime in... I'd prefer unbiased opinions, which is a little harder if the grade is declared (I think).

Thanks for the warm welcome. There seem to be a lot of knowledgeable folks around here.

-Jim

I agree with everything James just said. Proofs and SMS coins are very hard to grade from images.

I will tell you, that cameo contrast appears to be quite strong, and is very cool!