• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Seated Dollar Experts

10 posts in this topic

Hi ER, how have you been?

Well, I am not an expert at Seated Dollars, but for any seated coin, I look at the knee, the breast and the high points of the head. On the reverse, look at the eagle's head on AU/Unc coins. That's the first thing to wear.

Of course on a coin as large as a Seated Dollar, the fields will show some signs of circulation concurrent with any wear on the high points. If you see some "rub" on the high points, but no circulation marks or break in the luster in the large, open fields, then the coin may have "cabinet friction" and could still be a mint state coin. I like to grade these coins based on surfaces first, then by strike and wear. Just my opinion.

Dennis - earlyus.com

in general and really the tip of the iceburg so to speak

for the more common and/or well struck issues of seated dollars

the highest points/signs of first wear on the coin on the obverse

is the knee to your left when looking at the coin or in other words her right knee and the one breast which is the one to your left when you are looking at the coin or in other words her right breast

on the reverse

the top tips of the eagles wings

the middle top part of the shield

the small area just to the lower right of the eagles eye

michael

Usually all of the high points tend to show wear at the same time. Once it becomes perceptable you are probably in the MS61-63 range. Yes MS63!