• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Are you an engineer?

Are you an engineer?  

168 members have voted

1. 1. Are you an engineer?

86 posts in this topic

Lately I have noticed that quite a few coin collectors at the coin forums I frequent (NGC, Coin People and Coin Talk) make their living as engineers.

Maybe it's because we have a little extra money to indulge in this hobby. Not as much as a doctor, lawyer or investment banker, but a little more than most people. Maybe it's because we appreciate the process of minting a coin. Who knows?

Simple poll, either you are an engineer or you are not. Retired engineers count.

Please vote! And for the record I am an engineer, 35 years in recording studios and 3 in television.

Nope, I am not an engineer. Just your typical blue collar worker here. At least not by technical definition, though I do have to do minor engineering on the fly. (Machinist)

I started out as an engineering major a college, mainly because my father thought it was what I should do, and hated it. Poor grades in calculus put an end to “my father’s dream.” So far as I’m concerned “the NEW MATH" sucks. :mad::pullhair: When I took calculus again in graduate school using the traditional approach, I had no problem with it.

I ended up majoring in accounting with a high powered interest in economics and history. Later I earned an MBA.

Nope! No degree. Uncle Sam got me (1969) before I could finish, and then kids came along. When it finally got to the point where I would be able to return, I didn't care.

Chris

I'm still in school. Math major. No clue what I want to do with it.

Make money! Figuratively, of course, unless you want to go to China and teach them how to counterfeit Somali $ coins.