• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

2010 cent reverse

18 posts in this topic

based on the article on the front page of the Coin World I got in the mail today, this is the frontrunner for the new cent reverse (ugh...):

2010_Lincoln_Cent_Design_10.jpg

The only thing that makes sense about bureaucratic decisions is that they make no damn sense!

That reverse design is butt ugly and shows not creativity whatsoever!

based on the article on the front page of the Coin World I got in the mail today, this is the frontrunner for the new cent reverse (ugh...):

2010_Lincoln_Cent_Design_10.jpg

Only way to describe this... Blah! I'm an artist and that is not art.

The eagles are nice, but in my opinion they do not belong on any denomination lower than a quarter.

The disjointed flag was recommended by the Commission of Fine Arts. The CCAC recommended the shield, although we felt none of the designs were worthy of a circulating coin. (The law required us to recommend a design from among those presented.)

As for the eagle, tradition (and earlier coinage law) reserves that for coins of precious metal, not zinc.

The CCAC is also going to discuss using a new obverse instead of Brenner’s tired portrait of Lincoln’s coat.

RWB - are you on the CCAC? If so, can you tell us why you didn't recommend any of the US Capitol building (Designs 1-8), an actual interesting flag (Design 9), or the shield with pen/sword (Design 12)?

(P.S. I'm getting the numbers from the About.com article.)

I am intrigued by the idea of refreshing the obverse, I think the silver dollar design might be an idea one to adapt to the cent. Of course I'd also like a capped bust of Liberty too!