• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Newbie conservation questions

4 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I am new to coin collecting and would like some details regarding the usefulness of conservation. It seems like a likely place to learn what can go wrong with coins in general and what to stay away from buying in the first place.

For instance, I see some coins on eBay and they sure look gray and washed out, they look cleaned, especially if some dark areas are left behind in the corners near the rim. Would conservation help such coins? Would cleaning damage them too much and what kind of cleaning does that?

As I understand it, anything that damages the surface permanently will make a coin ungradeable by the main grading services, and I guess rightly so. What I am trying to learn is how to identify those kinds of coins from an auction photograph and avoid them!! Or, if I see a weirdly toned coin and take a chance that it is not overly damaged, how can I identify that opportunity to save a coin specifically for conservation? Do you have on-line classes that I can take to help me identify which coins might be worth the risk of buying them?? I think it would help the whole hobby if there was an increased awareness of what kinds of damage people are doing to perfectly innocent coins in the name of "cleaning" and "salesmanship".