• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Collecting Silver Eagle sets. Is it a good investment or a lot of Hype?

5 posts in this topic

I've been collecting ASE's for several years but during the time the 20th Anniversary collection and Burnished coins came around in 2006 I became very ill and 2006 to 2007 wasn't a good time to really think about my collection sitting in the hospital. I was just wondering if you think buying the 3 coin A-E 20th Anniversary set and the 3 coin 2006-2007-2008 Burnished set was a good investment for the money they are selling for at this time or are collectors just stirring things up to increase there profits. Thanks Beck

Beck, I think long term prospect for ASE price appreciation is good because of the coin's popularity, beauty and eye appeal. Of course, getting the best price point for the coinage with the best eye appeal and quality is another thing all together.

Note: I have collected ASE since 1986-date, Have not sold any coins.

Larry

This all depends on your goals as a collector, investor or dealer.

Since ASE is a bullion product regardless if its UNC or Proof it remains bullion.

Collecting in albums is perhaps better than having them certified and graded because to holder may not be practical for resale.

Major auction houses do not want modern bullion item unless they are graded 70 for the purpose of Registry.

Now if you purchase for the spot bullion price play and the price of silver becomes $25/oz or more then you can resell your collection if you had purchased UNC's at $10/oz.

AS for grading ASE from the USMint the quality of the items can vary from 66 to 70. The average in my experience has been 68.8 for gold proof sets.