• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1925 Stone Mountain, Is a Matte proof possible?

15 posts in this topic

Hi My name is Ray and I am new to this message board but not all that new to Numismatics.....

I recently bought a very nice 1925 Stone Mountain half dollar. It looks to me that it may be a matte proof. I will try to get pictures posted a little later.

What are the best ways to determine wether or not it is a proof as I know nothing about Matte proofs?

Believe it or not, Walter Breen reported at least one matte proof was struck, but he’s been known to error in his assessments on an occasion or two. I’m surprised that there were not presentation pieces minted for dignitaries and high Government officials, but there are official “counter stamped” pieces with abbreviated states with numbered districts.

No, I do not think you posses a matte proof…but pictures will be most helpful to determine what you do have

Here are the pictures, sorry for the quality but both my houses lighting and my photo skills are under par :blush:

117_2543a.jpg

117_2560a.jpg

I doubt I would be lucky enough to have scored a proof but with the odd matte finish it has I figured I better check into it. hm

Welcome to the forum, Ray.

That is not a Matte Proof. It is a circulated business strike which appears to have been cleaned.

To my knowledge, no Matte Proof Stone Mountains have been authenticated, though a fairly small number of other commemorative issues have.

One of a kind Matte Proof 1925-S California Half Dollar. This is what a matte proof of that era would look like.

1925_cal_jub_matte_proof_ngc.jpg