• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Morgan questions???? Much better pictures 9/24 plz look

19 posts in this topic

I have a new found interest in Morgan dollars. They are so nice in high grade.

I would like to know what the better Morgans are and what to look for.

I just recently purchased a set of 3 1882 1883 and 1884 all CC.

Any advice is welcomed. How would these grade and why?

Dont forget newbie here.......

65964.jpg.41e08950d8319551f314f343caa56fc2.jpg

65965.jpg.b5f599d43c82f52ae923051e588bfc23.jpg

The best way to find the better Morgans is to look at the price. There's a lot of angles to take in the series, though. Some collect varieties, some collect all varieties of a certain date, some collect by looks, by date, etc.

You're right, too, they are beautiful in high grade.

Well, there are a few key dates and some very rare in higher grades

(MS65+).

The big one of course is the 1893 S. A couple thousand dollars plus in Good condition.

Here's a pricelist from PCGS. Prices are inflated,but you'll get an idea which are key(very low mintage) and which are rare in high grades.

http://pcgs.com/prices/PriceGuideDetail.aspx?c=744&title=Morgan+Dollar

Hi Brian,

I have only been collecting for a few months on the morgans. My advice is to be wary of eBay. You can find some good deals there, but be very careful. Most I have seen there are overgraded, harshly cleaned and worse. I would stick to PCGS, NGC, ICG and the older ANACS. You can find some good deals on TeleTrade and Heritage auctions.