• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is it really worth it to buy a PF 70 over a PF 69?

12 posts in this topic

I am looking at a 2008 Silver Eagle proof on Ebay. Its it worth it to pay the extra for a PF70? They seemed to be $20-40 more right now. Looking at the trend for prices on PF70's it seems so but I thought I would ask. You can tell I am new at this. Thanks Lisha

For me personally, No. The only time it matters is if your goal is being competitive in the registry. The only time I've paid for PF70 on a modern coin was buying a gold coin where the PF69 was about $10 over melt and the PF70 was about $20 over melt. For $10 I was willing to get the 70.

No.

Look at a PF-69 and a PF-70 coin. Can you tell a difference? I can *almost* guarantee that you can't tell any real difference. With that in mind, is it worth paying so much more for 1 extra point?

Is it really worth it to buy a PF 70 over a PF 69? In my opinion, no.

Lisha, Perhaps another question to ponder is: "Is it really worth it to buy SAEs slabbed over original government packaging?" hm

No - Buy ASE's as close to melt as you can get them for.

Circulated classic USA silver dollars you can browse at a show and get close to melt are also a good deal today. These are fun to buy. I also like 90% silver circ Franks and Walker 50c.

I buy modern gold if I can get it close to melt. People bring that stuff up to my table all the time in 69 and 70 - I simply offer them melt, its silly to slab that stuff anyway. The ones who need money will sell. I have put away so much of this material I have bought at shows in bank boxes the gal at the bank teases me she is confident her banks money is backed in gold.