• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Just noticed a black smudge(picture added)

6 posts in this topic

Hey all,

Now I know for a fact this little smudge wasn't on my 81 S Morgan when I sent it to NGC. It's on the reverse down by the mintmark.It looks like graphite or ashes? I studied this coin a hundred times since I bought and never saw any smudge.. This one is, in my opinion, in the best condition of any of my coins and it came back as improperly cleaned.

You all know how we are about our coins.I can tell you pretty much where and when I bought mine by looking at them,even the duplicates.I'm not going to make a stink with NGC about it,I just find it disturbing. Maybe I'm nuts,but I don't think so.

Here's a picture of it. I think I would have noticed this. I got rid of my before pictures, dang it.

81ssmudge.jpg

I have had coins returned to me from the TPGs that I would swear looked different than I remembered them looking. Most of the time, it is probably my mistaken recollection.

If there is a new smudge, I would call NGC customer service, explain the situation, and see what they recommend.

Is it possible that the smudge could have been (temporarily) removed by the improper cleaning only to resurface during the time of the submission. Who knows what the climate controls are like at the USPS. I'm also concerned about the area of the eagle's right wingtip and STATES along the rim.

Chris

Is it possible that the smudge could have been (temporarily) removed by the improper cleaning only to resurface during the time of the submission. Who knows what the climate controls are like at the USPS. I'm also concerned about the area of the eagle's right wingtip and STATES along the rim.

Chris