• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Can you help with a grade on this 1917D type 1 Standing liberty quarter?

12 posts in this topic

I just bought this one to go with my 1923 S. I am still new at all of this. Orig Ch Bu was written on the card. I know BU is brilliant uncirculated. Does anyone know what the grade would be in MS? Here is the coin. Any help or suggestions are very appreciated. Sorry about the color. I am working at getting a better light. Its raining outside so could not even use the sun. It does have a nice tone more like the rev picture.

Lisha

standing17ob.jpg

standing17rev.jpg

Lisha,

There is obvious wear on the high points of the coin. This coin is lightly circulated and I will say about AU55 is the grade, but I can't really tell about the luster from those photos. It is still a nice type one raw SLQ though.

Definitely AU. Upper au would be my guess 55+
hm ...From those pics I can't see where anyone could say AU or weak strike. Just because there are luster breaks on the high points doesn't mean that it was caused by wear or a rub....

could it be AU... Sure... but it could well be an MS as well.

It's a lovely coin with not the greatest of strikes.

Thank you everyone. It is a beautiful coin and one I wanted. If it is AU I paid too much. I am not sure how to get it graded unless I send it in to be slabbed. I guess I could take it to another shop but I don't really want to do that. So for now I will just enjoy it.

Lisha

Just for grins a giggles I took your pick and hit autofix in the nero photosnap program I got with my SONY DVD rewrite....

I have to say I think that you should send it to a TPG ...(NGC Is my choice)

standing17ob1.jpgstanding17rev1.jpg