• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

please help with a 1923 S Standing liberty quarter

14 posts in this topic

I inherited some coins. I found this one in a 2x2 paper holder with a price written on it. I know this was written almost 20 years ago. there is not a grade written on the card. Could you help me in grading this coin. I am curious how much it is worth now? I am new to coin collecting so any help is appreciated. It looks like a nice coin with minimal wear.

23sstandingliberty.jpg

Looks to be a full AU, possibly even low MS coin. It's kind of hard to tell from the scan. But, what I can tell you for sure is that you should get the coin out of that holder and place it in an archival quality one. Rusty staples are not a good thing.

Thank you. I know we have hundreds of those holders to replace. Its a shame becuase a few have bled rust onto some coins. I just recieved these last week. I have no idea how long they have been in storage. I dont want to take it out until I have an appropriate holder to put it into. Thank you again for your response. I know the scan does not do it justice. I might try with my Digital SLR later.

Lisha,

First let me welcome you to the forum.