• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Care to guess?1900 Morgan DMPL

18 posts in this topic

I am a newb at this site having just joined last week. This Morgan is in a PCI holder and it's going to NGC for crossover.The pictures came out okay,except the mirrors. I had to scale them to 460x450 to fit the 200k limit.Maybe I should use less colors.Hope they are good enough. Anyone care to guess the grade now and what NGC might assign?

59486-19005.jpg.967f84b607a769f6ea1d355f09fa0b9f.jpg

59487-19006.jpg.0680eef1cf389f61a576ef07eee7574e.jpg

Based on those images, I think the coin is a solid MS65 with a chance at MS66. It is impossible to determine whether or not this coin would get a PL or DMPL designation from those photos. However, I immediately become suspicious whenever I see a coin of that quality in a third world holder. From the photos, I can't detect anything really wrong with the coin so I will assume that it has something to do with the PL designation.

I don't collect PL's or DMPL's so I had to do a little research in Heritage's auction archives. Here is what I found. There are only 10 DMPL graded 1900 Morgans combined for both NGC & PCGS and they carry a very hefty price tag. The PCGS price guide for a 1900 MS65 DMPL is $15K and Numismedia is $27K. The PL version carries a price tag of $2,500 and $700 respectively.

I suspect that the coin was submitted to PCI to get the DMPL designation and that it is really an MS65 PL by NGC's standards. Either way, best of luck and let us know how it turns out.

Welcome to the boards, prudden! :hi:

I'm going to guess that your Morgan currently resides in a MS67 holder. Future NGC grade: MS65, maybe 66. Keep us informed.