• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Total newbie - see coin example

8 posts in this topic

Hi all - know next to nothing about coin collecting but have a bunch of coins my dad collected as a kid. I'm posting a pic of one of them to get some opinions. Most of his coins are American from turn of the century into the 40's. I know condition is important and have no idea how to grade a coin. Any opinions on this coin would be great. Thanks in advance.

1921Dollar.jpg

1921DollarBC.jpg

im not to good at this either yet but ill try.

im seeing an damaged/AU coin. there is the cheak mark drawing my attention,the splotches on lower obverse. and the rim dings that would i think body bag the coin.

I see a 1921-S Morgan dollar, grading AU, with some rim damage and possible environmental damage. Looks to be a B&W photo- color is important in grading as well, so if you have a color photo, that would help give a better idea of the coin's surface condition...

My local shop pays $13-$16 for common-date Morgan dollars in this condition...

Perhaps it's because of the picture, but the coin appears to be dull with no luster. I know that 1921-S Morgan dollars can come dull with weak centers, but this one looks worn to me. I'd give it an EF, a 40 if there is no luster at all or a 45 if it has some luster in the letters.

Thanks for the quick replies! My scanner was being finicky so, yes, those were BW pics. Here are the color ones. Clearly makes a difference - had no idea!

1921Dollar-1.jpg

1921DollarBC-1.jpg