• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Gold and Platinum coin question from Newbie

8 posts in this topic

I have been collecting gold, platinum and silver coins for a few years now but have never sent any of the un-graded coins in to be graded. I am wondering if I should ... I have a number of uncircullated modern coins (eagles, krugurrands, philharmonics, pandas etc ect) and I am wondering it is worth the money having them graded. I appreciate any opinion on this subject. Thank you.

I have been collecting gold, platinum and silver coins for a few years now but have never sent any of the un-graded coins in to be graded. I am wondering if I should ... I have a number of uncircullated modern coins (eagles, krugurrands, philharmonics, pandas etc ect) and I am wondering it is worth the money having them graded. I appreciate any opinion on this subject. Thank you.

Most likely I do not see any reason to send them in for grading. They are only worth bullion value anyway.

IMHO the only ones that need to be graded and authenticated is pre 1933 gold which is heavily counterfeited.

It all depends upon your collecting goals. If you choose to participate in the registry then, of course, they must be graded. It seems that you have a big headstart on the collection so it may be worthwhile to you to participate. It can be fun and is also a useful tool such as documenting your coins, and with a unique slab #, it is useful as an inventory list. The competitiveness can be fun and it motivates you to work towards a complete set.