• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1893/93 Columbian Expo..IMAGES ADDED IN 4th POST!

10 posts in this topic

NGC will recognize any variety that is listed in the Cherrypickers' Guide. There is a listing in the CPG for a 93/93 RPD, FS-C50-1893-301. It has secondary images of both numbers to the north with the "3" being fairly significant.

According to the CPG, there is only a slight premium in grades EF-MS63, but in MS65, the values are the same for the variety and a normal strike.

Chris

Physics-fan...you wanted pics, you got pics. Keep in mind, I am not very good at all with imaging, with my little Sony Cyber Shot...and for the close-up of the overdate, had my trusty loupe on the lens...so, here ya go, and dont be afraid to criticize....I know its only to help me take better images...BUT, you CAN see the doubling on the '93....and theres an obverse and reverse image of the coin...if the images arent TOO bad, and you might want to play 'Guess the grade', be my guest.....here ya go!!

*edited to delete one close-up image of the date, was a bit too blurry....the over-date can clearly be see in the close up below, but can also be seen in the reverse image...oh, anything that appears to be lines, scratches or the like are purely on the slab..still alot of nice mint luster (which cant be seen due to my crapy pics)coming through, with some nice periphery golden toning (again, cant be seen in image)....enough of my jawing....here are the images*

columbian005.jpg[/img]

columbian014.jpg[/img]

columbian013.jpg[/img]

Chris,

I thought NGC would attribute any coin in the CPG, also. But when I questioned Pam Kesten about it, here was her response: