• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1832 Half Cent Grade and Color opinions please

21 posts in this topic

Your opinions please in regards to this half cent's grade and color. I'm just learning about EAC color and grading and this truly helps-thanks to all who respond.

Jim

Sorry about the photos but this is all I had to work with.

1832HalfCent.jpg

The color looks too light to be original. So if the images are accurate, I think the coin has been lightened or cleaned. And if the images aren't accurate, we're wasting our time trying to assess the coin. ;)

I agree that the coin may have been lightened at one time, but this is where the slab graders and the EAC people differ. If it has been lightened there is good chance it will be body bagged and declared to be worth a lot less money. EAC people will look it, realizing the highly reactive nature of old copper, and make allowances.

The picture is a little out of focus on my monitor, and I can't make out what the thing on Ms. Liberty's cheek is. If it's a nick or spot, that's a grading point. But here's my take from an imperfect picture.

The coin appears to have Mint State sharpness. It looks to be an MS-63 with possible lightening. If it has been worked on, it was done with some skill. I'd say that that the EAC grade would net to either MS-60 or AU-58. If it has no rub on the highest points it's MS-60. If it has the slightest rub, it's AU-58.

BTW I could show two half cents - one graded MS-63 brown and another graded MS-64, brown. From a preservation perspective the MS-63, brown is much nicer than the MS-64, brown. But the number on the slab calls the tune. :(

Bill,