• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1804 Large Cent

12 posts in this topic

HI,

Newbie here....Im wondering if anyone can help educate me as to weather this is legit or not. Im not too experienced in this field, fishing lures is my passion. But latley Ive been wanting to spread out a bit and get into something new. This was offered to me in trade with a few other coins for some old tackle I have. When I was doing research on the this in the books and on the inet. Ive noticed that most all the 1804s have the mark at the rim at 2 o'clock. If the coin does not have the mark does it mean its fake.....

Also what might be a value to this assuming the back is in the same condition. I like it and its a neat coin but I dont want to under or over trade...

I hate to ask a stupid question right off the bat, but maybe some of the good Karma Ive stored away helping value old fishing tackle for folks over the last ten years and through my website will come back and help me out...

Again, first of many questions, but thanks in advance.

Matt

Old Fishing Lures

46495-1804.JPG.5b7cdedf78096b77197aa51ea66f23c6.JPG

You no doubt realize that the 1804 large cent is a valuable coin. Give the images, I do not believe this is a real 1804 large cent and would bet this is an altered date coin.

Ive bought and sold lures with and to him for years, so I know its not a malicous attempt. He does a lot of bush kicking for lures and Im sure thats where hes picked these up over the years....Heres a few others he sent in thr group photo. Any more thoughts, comments, advice sure would be appreciated. Matt

46506-1807.JPG.c10a16fcf850919babaf6ce4d6bfc796.JPG

46507-group2.JPG.75bd79415c7500a51d32573d8b1488e8.JPG

OldFishingLure.