• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The Fun of Self Slabbing

Do You plan to self slab any coins, especially with the ease offered by the new Chinese product.  

123 members have voted

1. 1. Do You plan to self slab any coins, especially with the ease offered by the new Chinese product.

13 posts in this topic

Self slab supplies are readily available on Ebay. The Chinese make a product that is very similar to the old ANACS slabs which is easy to work with and stacks nicely. At a recent show, a fellow had a whole case of these he had put together. He said "Hey I have been grading coins for over 30 years and I feel my opinion is as good as theirs. Afterall, grading is just an opinion - 5 people may disagree on the grade of a rare coin" The slabs looked very impressive (he said they cost him 32c apiece) and he had printed off some nice looking labels (from excel). I don't believe he was trying to emulate a grading service but simply had the name of his business on the label and felt these were a nice venue to display his coins. The are inexpensive, easy to prepare and will hold together well without being glued or heat sealed. They also open easily (a small flat head screwdriver from my model RR toolbox did the trick - just stucked it in the small slot on the side and turned) allowing removal of the coin or changing the (grading) certificate. Eventually many nicer raw coins will find their ways into these holders (and unfortuantely some cleaned / problem ones as well). Frankly, they look a lot nicer than staple 2 x 2's so here is a venue for a seller to display his nicer raw coins.. The key is preparing sharp looking slab inserts. Do you plan to self slab any of your coins? Will novices be fooled by these an