• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Images of Coins; Film vs Scanning (Images Embeded in Text)

6 posts in this topic

There have been quite a few threads recently about the lack of satisfaction many members feel towards one or more entities in our hobby/industry. While informative, these threads inevitably push down other threads that endeavor to share experience or knowledge. Written below is a composite thread of posts I have written over the years about imaging coins. Please note that there are images embeded in the text and that this could severely slow the loading speed of the page. Please also share your experiences with film, scanners and digital cameras. smile.gif

I am not a professional photographer, I am an amateur camera hack, therefore, most anyone with an interest in coins and photography should be able to take images like these with a few accessories and some experience. Coins that are scanned are lit uniformly with fluorescent light and are focused automatically by the scanner. This can result in a crisp image, however, color saturation is poor and the ability to capture luster is essentially absent. Color manipulation with software is an excellent tool to make the image more realistic, however, there is currently no way to easily mimic luster. As such, scanned coins often look flat or washed out as if they were over-dipped or are AU, not MS. Photography can overcome the limitations of luster portrayal and can give more realistic color reproduction. The downside to photography, besides time and expense, is that the focal plane can be extremely small resulting in images that are partially out of focus and the lighting, if done from a single source or done improperly, can cause hot spots and