• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Coin Collecting in the UK

14 posts in this topic

I'm just beginning to make a small foray into collecting UK Silver Britannias and it's got me thinking about UK collectors. Do people in the UK and Europe collect coins in a different manner than Americans? My general impression seems to be that they're not as serious about the hobby over there as Americans are. I don't see many foreign collectors on the forums and I don't hear stories about the big collectors over there. What's the hobby like across the pond?

It may be interesting to check auctions on eBay UK. I also haven't seen much evidence of activity going by eBay US auctions. There are some low mintage modern UK commems that sell for less than issue price. For example the £2 1997 bimetallic gold proof and the £2 2003 DNA 50th Anniversary gold coin were both issued at £295 with mintages of just 2,500 each. Even though the value of the gold content has gone up from £100 to £160, Chard Coins is selling these coins for £275-295 (on both eBay and their 24.carat.co.uk website). This means the collector premium for these coins has gone down dramatically as the intrinsic gold value has gone up while total value has diminished slightly. The 1997 coin is the UK's first ever bimetallic issue. The US's first bimetallic issue, the 2000 Library of Congress MS coin is selling near $4,000 due to a low mintage (that is about double the UK coins mentioned). Has any modern UK issue moved dramatically in price, say like Canada's Medal of Bravery enamel dollar or any number of US issues?